President: Steven Isserlis


Barnes Music Society is proud to have as its President the world-famous cellist Steven Isserlis.  Born in Barnes, he comes from a very musical family.  His two sisters are professional string players (Annette a violist and Rachel a violinist), and his grandfather Julian Isserlis was a composer.


 The Society in its current form was created through a merger in 1985 of Castelnau Concerts with the Barnes Music Club, although its roots go back to the 1950s.  Our outgoing President, the late Stephen Dodgson, had been Chairman of Castlenau Concerts, whilst the new President's late father, George Isserlis, had been Chairman of the Barnes Music Club.  Both played a major role in maintaining the Society's high standards.


Barnes Music Society aims to foster appreciation of music, promoting first-class concerts, and encouraging other musical activities especially involving young musicians.  These last are achieved by the Saturday family concerts for children and by the annual concert each May given by young musicians.


Please email all enquiries about the Society and Membership to



Great Value Season Ticket

only £60 (for Admission to

ALL Concerts (except any special charity events)).


Pay by Standing Order

for Your Convenience


Tickets for Individual

Concerts Available at the

Door: £15

Concessions: £12

Students £7

Special Events: £tbc



Next Concert this Season

Further Concerts this Season

Children's Concerts this Season

Location of Concerts (Map)




Barnes Music Festival

Barnes Online

The Holst Foundation

John Lewis Partnership

Making Music (NFMS)

Marsh Christian Trust

Mortlake Online

Oso Arts Centre

Richmond Parish Lands Charity

Thames Community Foundation



Barnes Music Society gratefully acknowledges financial assistance during the past year from the Barnes Workhouse Fund, the Barnes Community Association, the John S Cohen Foundation, the Holst Foundation and Chestertons



Thursday 11 May, 2017  7:30 pm

St Mary's Church, Church Road, Barnes, SW13 9HL


Fitzroy String Quartet







Stefano Mengoli    violin


Laura Custodio Sabas    violin


Emily Pond    viola


Michael Newman    cello





Mozart    String Quartet in B flat, K.589

Beethoven    String Quartet in F, Op.135

Tchaikovsky    String Quartet No.1 in D, Op.11





Tickets now available for
Fitzroy String Quartet




Winners of the 2016 Cavatina Intercollegiate Chamber Music Competition and Finalists in the 2017 Royal Overseas League the Fitzroy Quartet was formed at the Royal Academy of Music in 2014 by 4 award-winning musicians from Italy, Spain and the UK. They are currently Chamber Music Fellows at the Royal Academy for 2016/17 and are also Associate Ensemble at Birmingham Conservatoire where the quartet is giving chamber music workshops to the conservatoire students, working closely with the composition department and studying with Oliver Wille.


In 2015 quartet won the Wolfe Wolfinssohn Quartet Competition for their performance of Beethoven's String Quartet Op.135 and was awarded the Sir John Barbirolli Memorial Prize for outstanding contribution to the Royal Academy the same year. The quartet was also the St Peters, Eaton Square Prize Winners for 2015/2016. Notable collaborations include Octet performances with the Brodsky, Doric and Piatti Quartets.


While students at the Academy they were supported by the Davey-Poznanski String Quartet Scheme; through this they received tuition and mentoring from Garfield Jackson and Christoph Richter. Alongside this scheme they were invited to take part in the Wigmore Hall Masterclass Series where they performed Bartok's 3rd String Quartet to Andras Keller and later that year took part in the Leicester International Masterclass Series, performing to members of the Kuss Quartet. The Quartet has also taken part in masterclasses with Levon Chillingirian, David Strange, Sylvia Rosenberg, Martin Outram, the Escher and Doric String Quartets and are currently receiving tuition from David Waterman through Chamberstudio.


The quartet enjoyed a busy 2015/16 season giving its Wigmore Hall and St Martin-in-the-Fields debuts, and performing in Halesworth Arts Festival, Regents Hall, Colston Hall, Royal Masonic Hall and Lodz Academy of Music (Poland). The Quartet are having a busy and exciting 16/17 season giving many more recitals across Europe and the UK.


For further details about the quartet, please click on this link.